That Time Old Ladies Did More Crunches Than Me…

31 Dec

Are you also sick of reading end of year recaps on blogs?  Pretty sure I get every single one of your posts in my reader’s feed – throughout the year I’ve even commented, liked, and shared those posts.  Please do not make me relive it again with you because you are feeling nostalgic, k?  Thanks.

MOVING RIGHT ALONG…

Since I’m all about flexibility as a means to success lately, I went to my first ever fitness class last night! That’s right, kids. I got in a run early and then I made it to a class.  All fitness classes are included in my membership at the Carnegie Library of Homestead Athletic Club, so I thought it was about time I take advantage.  I chose Total Body Sculpting, which was as a low to moderate intensity body pump class.

When I walked into the classroom, I quickly realized that I was the youngest attendee by about 20 years.  This was very comforting in a way because I knew I wasn’t going to get left behind!  Everyone was very nice to me and one of the ladies helped me find free weights and a mat.

As we started warming up, I remember thinking Oh my gosh, hopefully this isn’t so slow that I feel like I wasted an hour of my night…  Let me tell you – those older ladies can MOVE!  The moves were very easy to follow along and I was getting my sweat on.  They actually did more crunches than I could.  Shame!  Shock!  Motivation!  I was determined not to be surpassed by the elderly, so I pushed myself hard the whole time.  I dipped low during squats and lunges then I kept good form during arms.  BOO YAH!  The only time I had trouble keeping up was during leg lifts and only because I got a crazy bad cramp in my hip flexor?  I don’t know what that’s about.  And oh yeah, crunches because I haven’t worked out my abs in 5 years.  Basically, I got my ass handed to me by an senior citizen named Cookie.  Also, I’m pretty sure that most of those ladies stuck around for yoga afterwards – color me impressed.   I, on the other hand, booked it for my car and a bottle of water!

I was a little stiff last night when I got home and I’m a bit sore today.  Not P90X sore, but I know I was definitely working some muscle groups that haven’t seen the light of day for a few months.  I needed that.

Christina is dealing with a seriously mean head cold, so we spent a lazy morning together and I’m sure will spend New Year’s Eve relaxing at home.  I’m thinking I might do some Zumba today after work to loosen up my hamstrings!

Y’all stay safe out there tonight and enjoy the last few hours of 2013.  I will check you in 2014! 🙂

Leave a Reply

