Why I Love January

2 Jan

The start to the year is an exciting time because it feels like we are given the opportunity to hit reset; it also happens to fall during the time of year in which we may feel like we have been hitting snooze!  We truly are given another chance, another fresh start, another blank slate full of possibilities.  That feeling is like my crack.  Kind of explains my habit of throwing myself into countless new projects and passions, only to quickly get bored and move onto the next new and exciting thing?  I guess I’m like a dog in that way.

photo 5

Such a cheerful note to start the new year on!  Seriously, though, the new year is a great time to jump-start strategies to achieve goals which have been lingering around.  My goal for the last few years has been to change my lifestyle with healthy choices and fitness.  For the longest time, I thought running would be a good vehicle for that.  I still love running, and do have a few new running goals for 2014, but this year my goal is to lose weight.  If I’m being brutally honest, a 50 lb. deficit will take me into a normal, healthy BMI range.  I find that to be shocking, but I’m a real person with real stresses and a history of struggling with my weight.  I hit a plateau during that journey a long time ago, but I’m ready to get moving again.  Literally.

Maybe even up these stairs I found on my run!

Maybe even up these stairs I found on my run!

I am not going vegetarian, vegan, paleo, gluten-free, raw, or any of the other countless dietary restrictions.  I’m not joining Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, or Atkins.  I am going to get it done the old fashion way – eating healthy, balanced meals and exercising.  For once, I feel prepared for the hard work that’s ahead and I have the determination to keep going even when it’s hard – I’m turning 30 this year!  I feel like I am running out of chances to get it done.  This year symbolically and literally marks a different phase of my life, and I want to start it off on the right foot.  The right foot which will hopefully soon be attached to a much smaller body.

Nene.Diet

Err…lifestyle change.  Whatever.

Six days ago, I committed to a 50 lb. weight loss goal and I challenged myself to do something active every day no matter how small.  Since then, I have logged almost 6 miles, done 2 hours of Zumba, taken a pump class, and done yoga.  The last week has been awesome!  Some little crazy voice inside my head even wonders if I could lose 30 lbs. by my 30th birthday?

It was only a matter of time before Christina got me sick, though.  This morning I woke up with chest and nasal congestion, runny nose, coughing, along with feeling like I’m an iPhone 5 in LTE mode that didn’t get charged overnight and is clinging to that last 4% of battery even though you’ve force-quit all the apps.  Everything in me wants to curl up under a blanket and sleep away this feeling, but I know that I need to take care of myself and push through.

Leave a Reply

