No More Days Off!

5 Jan

Swear, I sat on the couch earlier today and said OUT LOUD to Christina: “I’m just not going to run today and I will really hit the gym hard tomorrow.”  And then I sat there for like 45 minutes thinking about what I had said.  That’s such a lie!  I will hit the gym just as hard as I normally do, but it will never make up for a missed opportunity.  I finally woke up feeling like I’m on the other side of this bug.  And yet I’m convincing myself to take an un-needed day off?  Lame.  So, I did what must be done when you’ve piddled around so long that it’s now dark outside and the polar vortex has begun its assault.  I hit the treadmill and did 1 mile of HILLS.  YOU GUYS.  All of the hills.  And then, because I evaluated my condition and determined that I was not going to die, I committed to going another mile of no hills at a comfortable, slow pace.  I made it three quarters into the second mile and my hips started to feel really tight.  So, I walked the last quarter and finished in almost exactly the same time as my first mile!  Hollerrrrrr.

Lunch today was tasty and was also my dinner.  Let’s be honest, I may even eat some for lunch again tomorrow.  It was that good.  It was a cold  quinoa salad with grilled chicken, scallions, cranberries, and pecans.  I will post the recipe on Monday.

Sneaky Snacks I ate today:  Some of the MIL’s banana bread.  I can’t resist it!  A bottle of diet coke.  I think that might be it, you guys!  This is usually where I feel like I should celebrate with a big bowl of ice cream…so I think I will chew gum and drink water.  Lots of water.

One Response to “No More Days Off!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cranberry-Pecan Quinoa Chicken Salad | SOLE for the Soul - January 6, 2014

    […] I totally did eat the ice cream last night.  I regret […]

Leave a Reply

