Woop! Woop!

14 Jan

Sound the alarm!

I woke up at 5:30.  In the morning.  Which still felt like the night.  Got dressed, got in my car, and met up with a friend to run.  Oh and did I mention it was raining?  I found it to be hugely gratifying.  After all this cold weather/rain/snow/freezing rain/hail nonsense I’ve been dealing with, I finally feel like a legit runner.  We did 2 easy miles at a slow walk/jog pace – can’t scare my new running buddy off!

photo(3)

Not long after snapping this beaut, a homeless man happened across our path on his way to use the bathroom in the woods.  Pretty much it was a good morning to be running with a buddy.  I ran the last half mile with some extra pep in my step, let’s just say that.

Also, I rather easily talked my friend into doing the Brave American 5K with me in the beginning of March.  I think this will be her first 5K, and I plan on using it as the test 5K in Hal Higdon’s Intermediate  5K Program.

Cold-Weather-Running-Nike

One Response to “Woop! Woop!”

  1. Kristy January 16, 2014 at 11:47 pm #

    Mad props on your early bird run! I ran at 9:30am two weekends ago and was VERY proud of myself, NO WAY, I could get up at 5:30!

    Those homeless people are always scaring me! Glad you had a buddy.

    You should send me your info to join our little group,and spread the word. http://pghrunner.com/pittsburgh-running-bloggers

Leave a Reply

