Brave American 5K

24 Jan

Seems like most of my running friends are in full-swing training for spring racing season!  I, on the other hand, am sitting on the bench for about a week while my foot heals.  Because of course I stepped on a nail which had been lodged in the bottom of Christina’s boot!  I’m fine, but the location of the injury (my heel) sucks.  I have to kind of walk on my toes or favor my left foot, which is throwing my body a little out of whack.  It’s starting to feel better today, so hopefully I will be ready to hit the pavement when the weather breaks this weekend!

In other news, I registered for the Brave American 5K in early March.  The race raises money for wounded vets coming back from Iraq and Afghanistan.  Every $200 raised helps a vet stay the night at Boulder Crest Retreat for Wounded Warriors.  I will probably cry at the starting line and the finish.  Super patriotic happenings get me all weepy.

Brave-American-5K-Logo

I know that I said the Ole 5K was going to be my inaugural race for the year, but I’ve been feeling ansy.  I just can’t wait until the Ole 5K in April to kick off my 2014 race season!  Since I am not putting pressure on myself about training this time, I just feel excited! I’m not focusing on beating my PR or my time at all.  For me, having a goal to work towards is sometimes all the motivation I need.  Knowing that I have a race coming up will make me run on mornings that I may want to keeping hitting snooze!  I hope to get to a point with running that 3.2 miles don’t seem like no thang.

Brave American 5K Course

Brave American 5K Course

Honestly, I was on my way to that when the nail incident happened.  Frustration!  I’m not letting myself get down about it, though, because success isn’t supposed to be easy.  There are supposed to be obstacles.  Character is developed when you learn to overcome the obstacles you are given.  Some successes happen in spite of obstacles, and some successes happen because of obstacles.  Once my foot gets better, I know that I need to keep moving forward.  Hopefully having this race on the horizon will keep me on track. 🙂

3 Responses to “Brave American 5K”

  1. Chocolate Covered Race Medals January 24, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    Sounds like an amazing race . . . hope your heel heals quickly!

  2. Kristy January 28, 2014 at 4:03 pm #

    I’m sorry about the nail, that STINKS! Al least the weather is poopy though, that will make your period of rest, a little easier.

    That’s a pretty awesome 5K! My hubby (a vet), is super military supportive, so he may run it. ( I may too if I’m not on call). I love races that benefit such amazing things!

Leave a Reply

