Tortellini Soup With Chicken Meatballs

24 Feb

We got a reprieve from Arctic weather over the weekend, FINALLY!  I was craving something light and fresh, so I made some delicious, healthy soup.  Enjoy!

Tortellini Soup With Chicken Meatballs

Tortellini-Soup-Chicken-Meatballs-SFTS


Ingredients:

  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 small shallot, diced
  • 32 oz. carton low sodium chicken broth
  • 9 oz. package tortellini
  • chicken meatballs
  • spinach
  • Parmesan cheese
  • pepper

My first step was to make my chicken meatballs.  You could easily use pre-packaged ones, but I had ground chicken on hand so I made mine from scratch.  I threw together 1 lb. of ground chicken, 1 egg (lightly beaten), about 1/3 cup of Panko, a little bit of Parmesan cheese, oregano, garlic powder, and crushed red pepper flakes to taste; then I formed them into balls and bake them for about 10 minutes at 400*F.  I flipped them over and baked them for another 10 minutes.

Baked-Healthy-Chicken-Meatballs

Next, I browned up my garlic and shallots for just a few minutes in some olive oil.

Tortellini-Soup-Step1

Then, I added the carton of chicken broth and about a half cup of water and brought everything to a boil.

Tortellini-Soup-Step2

I don’t even know why I’m including a picture of just the broth, but here you go!  Anyway, once the water was boiling I added in the tortellini and cooked them according to the directions (I think it was about 7 minutes).  At that point, add in the chicken meatballs and as much spinach as you want (I used a ton because I love it!).  Finish with some fresh ground pepper and a sprinkle of Parmesan if you please!!  🙂

Healthy-Tortellini-Soup-Chicken-Meatballs


Trust me when I tell you to put some aside for a day or two – the broth is so much more flavorful.  I know that because I am eating some for lunch as we speak!

Leave a Reply

