Well. Today Is THE Day.

31 Mar

I’m happy to report that I’m not dead in a ditch somewhere – not that any of YOU PEOPLE even checked in on me.  Jerks.  My laptop is, though.  RIP little buddy – you done us proud and done us good, but life must go on!  I moved my computer (aka the best computer I’ve ever owned) from the home office to the work office, so we are back in business.

Y’all.  I turn 30 today.

mackenzieGIF

I don’t even know how to feel about it.  It’s kind of surreal when you reach the age that you always thought of as “old,” especially since I still get carded to buy basically anything or get into a bar.  I’m not even sure this is real life.  To be honest, I always thought I’d have a little pack of kids by this point because most of the people from my small hometown all ready do.  But I can’t even picture myself with a kid right now.  Not being responsible for keeping something with 2 legs alive is kind of awesome.  I slept in until 9AM today just because I felt like it.  If that doesn’t sound like winning, then I don’t know what.  Don’t get me wrong, I want kids some day but the only time I feel like I’m in a hurry is when I compare myself to others.  Then I read their 900th Facebook post about how sleep deprived they are and how they found applesauce in their hair when they got to work and how they don’t have enough hours in their day and teething and potty training and mean kids in their play group and baby daddy drama and ex-spouses (sheesh, those were quick marriages!)…as I pour myself a glass of wine at 2 in the afternoon, prop my feet up on my desk, and chuckle.

michelebusy

I’m not lamenting the end of my 20s.  Until I was like 24-25, I was a complete shit show.  My late 20s were a time period where I undid all of the things from my early 20s – toxic friendships, bad lifestyle habits, unhealthy behaviors, along with a whole lot of other crap.  It’s been rough and kind of backwards.  I believe they call what happened to me a “quarter-life crisis.”  With that having been said, my 30s are probably going to rock compared to my 20s.  Someone remind me that later when I’m crying into some tiramisu.

goodwithpie

 

11 Responses to “Well. Today Is THE Day.”

  1. Kristin March 31, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

    Happy Birthday!!!! WOOHOO!!!

  2. byrne1324 March 31, 2014 at 10:00 pm #

    Happy birthday, mine is tomorrow!! Hitting the old age of 35..shit I feel old

    • SOLEfortheSoul March 31, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

      Awww an April Fool’s baby!! Have a good one 🙂

  3. Kristy March 31, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

    Happy birthday!

  4. Erin Honestly April 1, 2014 at 8:57 am #

    Happy birthday, girl! I swear 30 is not so bad. As long as you’re still having fun, that’s all that matters. You’re gonna rock 30!

  5. Cassie April 1, 2014 at 1:42 pm #

    HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!

  6. Lindsay April 1, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

    Happy (belated) birthday! Don’t worry, 30s are great!

Leave a Reply

