That Time I Let Oprah Down

3 Apr

I feel like I’ve been staring at a blank screen with a blinking cursor for WEEKS.

My life has been like that for the last few weeks, too.  A pause.  An anticipation.  But also inertia.

After taking a week off from running due to unplanned laziness and 100,000 excuses, yesterday I attempted to run in our new neighborhood.  Hills.  That’s all I will say about that.  Just hills.  In every direction.  Both ways.  It was rough, but I know that in a few weeks I will be up for that challenge.  Right now I need to focus on adding on mileage and staying consistent.  So this morning, I opted for one of the easier loops I’ve created in my neighborhood.  Fail.  A big fat fail all over again.  I barely broke a mile and a half and I just didn’t have the steam.  I’ve also had this annoying pain in my neck from sleeping at an awkward angle and HOOBOY does it effect my form.  I just couldn’t relax my shoulders and that made my arms weird and the whole thing just effected my gait.

It’s so easy to be hard on yourself, to blame it on all of the things, to wallow in self-pity.  I am once again drawn to my favorite quote:

Oprah-Running-Metaphor

And guess what Oprah, I didn’t even bother phoning it in last week.  I just put it down somewhere and walked away.  NOT COOL.  We are 31 days out from the Pittsburgh Marathon Relay and it is time to BATTEN DOWN THE HATCHES PEOPLE.

tyra-learn-something

 

3 Responses to “That Time I Let Oprah Down”

  1. Kristin April 3, 2014 at 4:33 pm #

    I LOVE this and beautiful quote!! Stay positive. Stay focused. Stay in the run. You got it!!!

  2. byrne1324 April 3, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

    Everyone goes through these little funks, the key is to bounce back strong

  3. Kristy April 3, 2014 at 11:16 pm #

    We all have those days, then out of nowhere, you’ll have a fantastic run. Don’t stress.

Leave a Reply

