Checking In!

22 Apr

I was just testing you guys to see how long you would come here to stare at an indecent plastic humanoid before you quit reading my blog all together.

Glad you guys are committed!

I have been SUPER busy lately, but I am managing to stay on track with my training.  Easter Sunday was my scheduled long run – my longest distance ever y’all.  5 miles!  The point in my training plan where shit gets real.  I still can’t believe I did it.

North-Park-Lake-Shore-Loop-Map

Shout out to Ron, the runner/2010 BM finisher/marathon coach/all-around good guy for randomly finding me and sticking with me for those 2 miles!  Despite the fact that your “easy pace” was more like a sprint to me, and despite the fact that I was super self conscious and tried to take a dozen walking breaks to scare you away, you stuck with me.  When I finished my run and got back in my car, I realized that the only reason my pace was so great was because of Ron and his ignorance of my awkwardness.  I finished strong – I felt horrible but great all at the same time!  I barely even had time to gather my thoughts or stretch because I had to high-tail it back home to get ready to drive to New Castle for Easter.  Phew!

Easter was very low key this year as we are all trying to eat cleaner.  The kids are finally old enough to enjoy Easter without the bunny.

Easter-Dinner-2014

I’m starting to feel really nervous about the relay, but I also have something big to share with you in the upcoming weeks!

3 Responses to “Checking In!”

  1. Kristy April 23, 2014 at 11:28 pm #

    Congrats on the new distance PR! So awesome! North Park is my fav!

    • SOLEfortheSoul April 24, 2014 at 11:49 am #

      Thanks! I’d never run the loop and I will 100% go back – it was great!

  2. Jennifer April 24, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Congrats on the 5-mile run! I also recently discovered North Park and really like that loop.

Leave a Reply

