It’s Finally Marathon Weekend!

2 May

It’s here.  Pittsburgh Marathon weekend is here.

khloe-kardashian-shitballs

The last 3 days have been pure psychological torture for me.  Every time I think about the race, my stomach drops, I get a pit in my throat, my heart starts racing, and I feel just completely sick.  I think about the race about 300 times a day, so its been an interesting week.  Keep in mind that I’m only running a 6.1 mile leg of the marathon relay.  It will be my longest distance to date.

I feel mostly prepared.  I’ve been staying on track with nutrition and hydration, and I’ve performed well on my long training runs.  I’ve been building up to this since January, struggling through one polar vortex after another, and it’s finally here.  According to my training log, I’ve logged 103 miles over 4 months.  I don’t really know if that’s good or bad, but I have to accept it for what it is.  Each month, my mileage and frequency of activity increased, my pace improved, and my weight is somewhat decreased.  I would be lying if I said I did the best I could, because really I can always push myself harder.  I’m still struggling to fight the laziness in my mind.  But, I did what I did and now I feel mostly prepared.  I just have to believe in myself now.

let-go-let-god-kardashian

let-go-let-god-kardashian2

I will be heading to the expo tonight to grab our relay team’s stuff and then I have less than 48 hours to hyperventilate, have panic attacks, hopefully not binge eat, rest, and try to calm the fuck down.  On that note, I’m signing out!  The next time you hear from me will be post-6.1!

3 Responses to “It’s Finally Marathon Weekend!”

  1. DarlinRae May 2, 2014 at 1:53 pm #

    Yay you can do it!

  2. Kristin May 2, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    Have a great race!!! You’ll do awesome!! Sending positive vibes your way!! XOXO!!

  3. Kristy May 4, 2014 at 9:07 pm #

    Can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

