The Biggest Announcement Yet!

9 May

2014 has been a strange sort of year for me.  I’ve got personal goals spewing out of my mouth like bottle rockets: upcoming races, books I want to read, writing goals, fitness ideas.

brit-hair-flip

It’s all becoming a bit of a problem.  When you’re an indecisive person like I am, the last thing you need is inspiration like firecrackers: excitement building, a big sudden bang, but then suddenly just smoke in the wind.

brit-cringing

This year (aka the year I turned 30), I knew I had to make a change in my attitude or I would forever be caught in a cycle of things left unfinished.  I told myself that I didn’t want to feel like that ever again.  So, I changed.  I stopped putting so much pressure on myself, I started using running mantras, I embraced flexibility as a means to success, I stopped comparing my progress and performance to the progress and performance of others, I starting being accountable for what goes in my body.  I started having fun with running and that changed everything.

good-personality-tat

I took this week as a recovery week.  I’ve been reflecting on my work schedule, family obligations, etc. to figure out what my next move is.  Last summer, I was all wishy-washy about my goals and I ended up squandering opportunities to run 2 of the big races I really wanted to do:  The Man Up 10K and The Great Race.  Now that I’ve proven to myself that I can finish a 10K, I’m ready to make a big move.

So let’s chat goals.  There are a few 5Ks and 10Ks I’d like to run in the next few months, but one big fat race waiting for me in the fall.  I feel sick typing this, but here goes nothing:  I’ve made up my mind to run the Erie Half Marathon.  I’ve now said it out loud on the internet so that means I have to do it, right?  It’s a flat half marathon in an incredibly scenic state park that is spectator friendly.  Any races I participate in between now and September 14th are just preparation for that day.

13.1

Oh, this is going to be a winding, lovely road built of blood, sweat, and tears.  In the back of my mind, the idea of running a friggin’ half marathon has been slowly gaining momentum for years and I’ve never felt more ready.  I am trading in my anxiety and self-doubt.  I’m trading them in for a really hard, elusive, demanding, difficult-to-explain thing that is the half marathon.  I can’t wait to suck every drop out of this experience, document it, and store it away here in this place that I love.

 

UPDATE (6/5/13):  I will no longer be running the 2014 Erie Half – it’s the Pittsburgh Half 2015 or die trying!  ♥  

 

10 Responses to “The Biggest Announcement Yet!”

  1. DarlinRae May 9, 2014 at 4:31 pm #

    Good for you! I’m running my first half at the end of June and I’m super excited/nervous!

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 9, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

      Oh man, I can’t wait!!! Good luck and on your race and Happy Birthday!!! 🙂

  2. mom1025 May 10, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

    Ok! I’ll mark may calendar…when you give me the date again….and I will be there cheering you on!!!!!!!

  3. byrne1324 May 11, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

    I also will be running the Erie half in prep for the Columbus full. Don’t worry you got this!!!! Train hard and run hills and the flat course will be a breeze!!!

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 11, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

      Oh I do! Can’t really avoid hills if you’re a runner in Pittsburgh! 🙂

  4. Haley Buchanan May 11, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    Congratulations on your decision! Once you start doing halves, you will be addicted! I’m also running the Erie half – maybe I’ll see you there!

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 11, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

      That’s awesome, good luck!!! I’m excited and terrified!

  5. Kristy May 12, 2014 at 2:07 am #

    So awesome! I’m so excited for you! You will do great.

    My current PR is on that course, it really is pancake flat!

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 12, 2014 at 8:22 am #

      Haha awesome!! I’ll worry about hills and 13 miles next May, for now I can just work on 13 miles!

Leave a Reply

