Memorial Day Weekend Wrap-Up

27 May

So far, this last weekend was the most relaxing weekend of the year for me.  Low key combined with gorgeous weather – you just can’t ask for more.

I was off work on Saturday, so I spent the majority of the day cleaning my house, shopping, and prepping for parties I would be attending Saturday night – Monday.  I just love a good Memorial Day picnic, don’t you?  🙂  My friends had a little gathering at their house on Saturday, which was random and fun.  I actually didn’t take a single picture because I was having too much fun!

On Sunday, I headed up to New Castle to visit my family and ate the best meal in the history of the world.

Memorial-Day-Food-2014

Lamb on the rod absolutely smothered in hot pepper sauce and garlic sauce, Syrian bread, and a kale-Brussels sprouts salad I made.  So good.  Can you tell I like garlic sauce?  YUMMMMMMMMM!  The key is to dip the Syrian bread in all the garlicy pepper oily lamb sauce.  DO IT!  I also made a Strawberry Jello Pretzel Salad, but I didn’t snap a pic (it wasn’t very photogenic anyway!).

Sisters-Memorial-Day-2014

my sister and I ♥

On Monday, Christina and I took advantage of some serious Memorial Day savings at the Ross Park Mall and then I ended up back at my friend’s house for some more festivities.

Memorial-Day-Food-2-2014

Grilled Chicken & Veg Kebobs with veg medley, mushrooms, and baked beans.  More yumness!

Bea Arthur had a smashingly good time with 2 new pals, Gus and Lily!  She found a new bestie in Lily because they both loved being chased and chasing each other.  She was so tired that she passed out on the way home and didn’t wake up once – it was a very nice alternative from the vomiting that the car usually induces.

dogs-memorial-day

I hope everyone else had a wonderful Memorial Day – full of food, family, and freedom!  Thank you for your service, vets!!

#MERICA!

3 Responses to “Memorial Day Weekend Wrap-Up”

  1. Kristin May 27, 2014 at 9:12 pm #

    I’m glad you had a great day!!! Your dog is Bea Arthur??!!! I LOVE IT!!! OMG!!!! Hehe!!!

    • SOLEfortheSoul May 28, 2014 at 8:21 am #

      Yes!!! It actually really suits her personality!

      • Kristin May 28, 2014 at 10:56 am #

        I LOVE IT!!!! That’s so cute!!

Leave a Reply

