Phone Dump

28 May

I know you mostly come here for the gratuitous pictures of my dogs, so here is one that Christina caught of Mr. Perfect himself:

chief-in-the-ivy

Like a little greeting card from Dogtopia.  ♥

I rarely if ever buy my food pre-made and processed in a box, bag, or carton.  HOWEVER, about once a year I get a serious jonesin’ for Kashi’s frozen Mayan Harvest Bake.  Everything about it is just tasty and delicious – plantains, sweet potatoes, black beans, and kale in this smoky ancho chili sauce a over pilaf/amaranth/polenta medley.  Bomb.com

kashi-mayan-harvest-bake

I’ve also been diving into ethnic food lately and I’m determined to try different Indian flavors to decide which ones I like the best.  I know next to nothing about Indian cuisine, but I love flavors like cumin, coriander, tumeric, curry, etc.  The last few times I’ve been to the grocery store, I make sure to grab a different simmer sauce to test out.  I figure if I like it even a little bit, I can hunt around for a recipe to duplicate at home.  Last night was Chicken Vindaloo over Coconut Rice – I was really happy with the heat in this one!  It had smoky undertones and it was spicy!  It has a pretty big kick, but it didn’t last long enough that you felt like you were suffering through the spice.  It kind of overpowered my precious coconut rice, so I won’t be using that combo again!  The texture of the simmer sauce was a bit gritty, I don’t know if that’s normal or not.  Anyone out there with more Indian experience let me know your thoughts/suggestions, I want more more more!!!

pataks-vindaloo-simmer-sauce

I feel weird saying this, but I’ve actually been enjoying some of the HIIT/Tabata work I’ve been doing!  Here is the circuit I’ve been doing lately:

may-tabata-hiit-set

I am going to have to do 2x more than I’ve been doing if I’m going to work off all that simmer sauce! 😉  I regret nothing!!

Oh and hi from us!

bea-arthur-van-selfie

Leave a Reply

