The Goals Which Remain

4 Jun

Happy National Running Day, everyone!!!!

Training-Overview-SFTSRuns


If life was one of those missing persons shows and this blog was the example they used of my behavioral patterns, they wouldn’t even file a missing persons report.  That’s why you should follow me on Twitter, duh.  @MichelleSFTS

toddlers-tiaras-finger

I’ve been watching a lot of true crime TV lately.  There’s also been a lot of boring, but clean food and a lot of sleeping going on.  Pretty darn exciting around these parts.  Between work being busy, personal crap, my monthly friend, and the humidity spiking: I’m pushing through.  Barely, but I am.  That’s all that matters really!

toddlers-tiaras-cat

What is the most effective trick for getting motivated?  Sign up for a race of course!  So I signed up for 2.  If you’re getting confused about what races I will actually be running for the rest of the season, don’t be alarmed.  I’ve been all over the place since the relay  😦  After Pittsburgh Marathon weekend, I would’ve signed up to run across the country.  I get race fever something serious!!!   But, I’m so strapped for time and energy and I need to set realistic goals.  I’m also really torn about running a half in the fall:  getting it in while I’m still 30 or holding out for the Pittsburgh Half next May.  I’ve got to follow my heart.  If I never run another half marathon in my life, I want to know that the one I finished was Pittsburgh.  Besides, I think it’s appropriate for all old goals to met before new ones…know what I’m sayin.’

toddlers-tiaras-wink

I have 3 remaining goals for the summer:

1.  Get pageant ready.  – Psssh.  Done.  Makenzie Myers is basically my spirit animal.

2.  Brentwood Firecracker 5K – July 4th

3.  Great Race 10K – September 28th

4.  Be halfway to my weight loss goal by August – 17 lbs. to go!

 

I clearly can get nothing done without being held publicly accountable for my actions so in that spirit, you will all have to suffer along with me while I give weekly recaps about my progress.  Sorry kids, but it’s the only thing that really kept me consistent last race season and I WILL NOT BE DEFEATED.  30 don’t play, yo.  Hopefully everyone agrees that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery because I will be “borrowing” (aka committing copyright infringement) a weekly template from Ethan at Spiritual Creaminess – go check out his blog, he just finished his 1st full marathon!!  I made a fancy new banner (at the beginning of this post), I’ve got my spreadsheet locked and loaded, and I’m ready to W.O.R.K.

 

GlindaWorkBitch

 

4 Responses to “The Goals Which Remain”

  1. Running Bear June 4, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

    Glad to see you found the recap format useful as a reader. It definitely helped me frame out my thoughts as I unraveled the jumble from the previous week. I look forward to reading your write ups.

    Good luck in your races!

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 5, 2014 at 10:49 am #

      Thanks!! It was very useful and fun to follow along! Hopefully it will help me find some consistency and direction through my training.

  2. Jennifer June 8, 2014 at 12:02 pm #

    Yes, nothing more motivating than having races on the calendar! I’m usually on vacation when the Great Race happens but I’ll be in town this year so might do that one too.

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 8, 2014 at 12:06 pm #

      Let me know and I will keep an eye out to say hello!!

Leave a Reply

