Like 1 Sentence Per Picture

11 Jun

On Sunday, I headed over to my friends’ house bright and early to do the T25 abs DVD.  It was…hard.  That’s about all I have to say about that!  Oh, and that yes I know it will get easier if I stick with it.  After we were done, they loaded up their bikes and we all headed downtown.

I don’t currently own a bike that has gears (or hand breaks), so in order to make the experience enjoyable for myself I decided to rent a bike.  Pittsburgh isn’t the most bike friendly city, but we sure are getting there.  Did you know that you can rent bikes downtown, right along the Great Allegheny Passage?

Golden-Triangle-Bike-Rentals-Downtown-Pittsburgh

They have hourly and day rates, which I found very affordable.  The hybrid that I rented was $8/hr or $24/day.  Since I am just an occasional biker, this option seemed reasonable to me.  We followed the GAP Trail all the way to Hot Metal Bridge and into South Side.

Biking

fluorescent cyclist alert!

Hot-Metal-Bridge-South-Side-Pittsburgh

We decided to make a pit stop for lunch and I insisted that we eat at Pita Pit so that I could have their falafel.

Lunch-Break

I am obsessed with the falafel on whole wheat pita.  I load mine up with spinach, onions, green peppers, cucumbers, feta, tzatziki, and hummus.  I saved half of it for dinner!

Falafel-Pita-Pit

Pita-Pit-Nutrition-Information

While we were stopped for lunch, it started to torrentially downpour.  Then, about 5 minutes after we were done eating, it just completely stopped.  We wiped off our bike seats and kept it moving!  We looped back towards downtown on the South Side (side?) of the river through Station Square and headed toward Smithfield Street Bridge.

GAP-South-Side-Station-Square

It was a fantastic little loop of the city and with lunch it only took us 1.5 hours. That meant a $14 bike rental tab for me, which I view as totally worth it.  I would’ve wanted to keep going but my friends had to scoot to a Pirates game at 1:30.

Bike-Ride-Map

Plus I took my first bike selfie!

awko taco

awko taco

2 Responses to “Like 1 Sentence Per Picture”

  1. marcy June 12, 2014 at 9:33 am #

    i love that trail. i had plans to go from millvale into the arts festival sunday, but changed plans due to the rain. check out pedal pittsburgh in august, it is a fun ride in the morning with festivities (free beer) at the end in the sa-side.

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 12, 2014 at 3:33 pm #

      I couldn’t make it to pedal Pittsburgh last year because I didn’t know about it until too late. That will not happen again!!!! I can’t wait!!! Thanks for the comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

