Training Overview #sftsRUNS

16 Jun

Welcome to the 2nd installment of my 10K Training Overview!  This is a weekly series in which I will document my weekly running progress, nutrition, photos, and mileage as I train for Pittsburgh’s 2014 Great Race on September 28th.  If you are on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook – you can also follow along using the hashtag #sftsRUNS.   These overviews are intended not only for me as a way to document my fitness journey, but also as a means to inspire other newbie runners who are ready to move beyond the 5K distance.

Training-Overview-SFTSRuns

Weekly Overview:

Unfortunately, my personal life continued along its downward spiral last week.  Running is extremely cathartic and I am so thankful that I’m able to do it.  I had scheduled some T-25 days with my friend, but because of the long hours I was pulling at work I just couldn’t juggle it.  I did try and get out of the house a bit, so I went to the Pirates game on Thursday with some friends.  I had planned a few other things, but I was basically just trying to keep my head above water all week.

Training Plan:

Planned Mileage:  9.5 miles

Actual Mileage:  8.18 miles <– Still under my goal, but improved since last week!

Longest Distance:  3.39

Training Miles to Date:  13.83

Weight Change:

My weight loss goal is 150 lbs.  By August, my goal is to be down to 175 lbs.  I weigh in immediately after I wake up on Monday mornings.  Last Monday, I weighed in at 190.2 and this morning I weighed in at 190.9.  I’m not discouraged by that at all because I drank quite a few beers at the Pirates game and spent half the week eating whatever I felt like.

Physical Condition:

Excellent!  I’m not expecting anything to really start changing until a few more weeks into training.  I’m still happy with my running shoes and am pretty consistent with stretching after a hard workout.  As far as I can tell, I’m staying hydrated – still just working on my summer swag.  Runner’s World recently posted some tips for running in humidity.  What I got out of it:  I overheat quickly as it is, but the humidity exacerbates the situation by not letting my sweat evaporate.  Therefore, it is important for me to be mindful of when the humidity is lowest, stay hydrated, and take walking breaks when the humidity is high.

Mental Condition:

I try to keep my posts light-hearted for the most part, but this week felt like the 9th circle of hell.  Running helps, of course.  But, I noticed a problem that I think translates into my life.  I don’t believe in myself enough.  As soon as I let doubt creep into my mind, I succumb to it.  I don’t know when I lost faith in myself to be a capable, independent, strong person but I am all of those things.  The only one holding me back from taking control of my life/health/happiness is me.  Even if I block out or try to forget what I put into my body – my body keeps a very accurate record.  Really, this isn’t something you can half ass.  I’ve been half assing it for years which is why I’ve managed to maintain the same weight but never lose.

Nutrition:

Well….this is where things kind of fell apart this week.  Oops!  Not saying it wasn’t worth it, but I can do better.

#yolo

#yolo

Non-Mileage Training (but still running related):

I had a few days where I walked the dogs as cross training, but I really didn’t do any of my HIIT work.  No excuses, I just need to do it!

i-can-do-hard-things

Impact On Real Life:

I think the problem with last week is that I didn’t let it have an impact on my real life.  I let depression and anxiety get the better of me and I sabotaged myself.    Writing all of this out makes it much more clear, so thankfully I can see where I need to make improvements.

Action Plan:

I hit the grocery store on Sunday and spent a lot of time meal planning/prepping food for the week.  I also made it a point to go through the daily/weekly pages of my planner and write things down.  I added in fitness info, more meals, and added my blog posts for the week.  Even if I have to switch the days around, at least everything is there and I have to look at it.  I forgot to snap a pic when I was finished, but this is about halfway through:

planner-june

I honestly don’t know how people function without writing things down.  So, my action plan this week is to follow the plan I have written down for myself.  I mean how hard is that?  (Don’t answer that question.)  Do the damn workouts, eat the damn food and don’t binge out.  My mantra of the month:  I can do hard things.  I can.  I don’t even care if it sounds like a “That’s what she said…” punchline.  It helps me and it also makes me giggle sometimes!

4 Responses to “Training Overview #sftsRUNS”

  1. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils June 17, 2014 at 6:43 pm #

    Great attitude to end this post. About the humidity–I hear you. I recently bought a handheld bottle, and that helps on even short runs. Good luck this week!

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 17, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

      I used my hand held bottle today – what a fabulous invention!!

  2. Running Bear June 18, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

    Self doubt is a killer, it gets to all of us some time or another. Once I recognize it, I usually let myself wallow briefly to indulge it, and then if it doesn’t go away naturally I have to kick its ass bye bye. Then it is back to exactly like what you listed – have a plan, stick to it with discipline, assess the results and alter as needed.

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 18, 2014 at 2:27 pm #

      If I write something down, 90% of the time I follow through with it. Training plans on spreadsheets and blogging have certainly helped me stay accountable – the rest of it is mental willpower and I’m working on that part!

Leave a Reply

