3 Healthy Options From My Week

20 Jun

They say something like 80% of weight loss happens in the kitchen – I don’t know how accurate that 80% is, but the sentiment is true.  For the past 2 years I have increased my activity by leaps and bounds, but I’ve still managed to just maintain my current weight.  I might go up or down within 10 lbs., but I don’t see much progress in one direction or the other.  Why is that?  Because when I increase my activity, my brain says “YOU’VE EARNED ALL THE THINGS!  HAVE WHATEVER YOU WANT!  GREAT JOB!”  Wrong.  So, so wrong stupid brain.  As my physical self gets stronger, I have to learn to strengthen my will power and remember that food is simply fuel to keep me going – it’s not a hobby and it’s not a reward.

Swear, the only time I get excited about eating clean is because I get to share it with you guys so here we go!  Here are 3 simple, clean recipes that helped me stay on point this week.

1.

Frozen-Greek-Yogurt-Dots



These are ridiculously easy to make, healthy, and they make me feel like I’m eating a ton when really I’m not! Frozen-Greek-Yogurt-Dots-Tutorial

Really, it’s that easy.  Pop them in the freezer for 1-2 hours and then gobble them up!  If they start to get melty, just put them back for about 15 minutes. BOOM.

2.

Fruity-Overnight-Oats

These overnight oats were super easy – you make them the night before!  I mixed 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats, 1/2 c. Greek yogurt (I use honey from Greek Goddess), 1/4 c. flax milk (or your choice of non-dairy milk), 1 t. chia seeds, 1-2 T. honey, and a handful of frozen berries.  I just put everything in a Snapware container, shake it up really well, and then refrigerate it until morning.  I cut up half a banana and put it over the top when I’m ready to eat it.  The texture of overnight oats is still growing on me, but I can’t get over how much more energy I have when I eat a great breakfast.  I will share more overnight oat mixtures as I go!

3.

chef-salad-2

Getting creative with salads has been a Godsend for me this week.  Particularly when it’s hot outside, the thought of eating anything except crisp, crunchy salad with loads of fresh toppings is all I need.  This spinach salad has turkey, turkey bacon, feta cheese, hard boiled egg whites only, and some of the remaining roasted red peppers from Monday.   I stored the peppers with a splash of olive oil and some garlic (which absorbed into the peppers a bit). The bottom salad has my famous balsamic vinaigrette – swear it’s the best dressing you will ever need. I’ve got loads of other salad topping ideas, but I refuse to waste food.  I always start the week with the ingredients that have the most limited shelf life!

roasted-red-peppers-garlic


 

Questions of the Week:

What are some of your go-to healthy options for the week?

What toppings are on your favorite salad?

 

5 Responses to “3 Healthy Options From My Week”

  1. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils June 20, 2014 at 10:58 am #

    The frozen yogurt dots are a great idea! I don’t eat dairy so could probably make them with non-dairy yogurt. And they’d also be great treats for my dog (who is also lactose intolerant).

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 20, 2014 at 11:10 am #

      Oh making these as a frosty dog treat is an excellent idea!! Dots for the whole family!! 🙂

  2. Running Bear June 20, 2014 at 3:42 pm #

    Overnight oats is a cool trick, I learned that one in Weight Watchers and used it from time to time. More recently, in a truly lazy spirit, I make them that morning, and just dump the oats and the yogurt together and just eat it. I probably look like how a horse eats oats, because they’re not very tender, but it works and is super fast and fills in a pinch when I forgot to make them overnight or dont have time/feel like cooking in the morning.

    • SOLEfortheSoul June 20, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

      I’m actually not even a big fan of the fruitiness of these ones. I ate them because that’s what I had, but I need to figure out some kind of nut butter/apple/cinnamon combo! Currently taking suggestions!

  3. mom1025 June 21, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

    Did you see my frozen yogurt nut covered banana post? That looked really good too!

Leave a Reply

