Friday Five: Five Fitness Snapshots

11 Jul

This week’s Friday Five linkup (an awesome weekly event hosted by Courtney @ Eat Pray Run DC, Mar @ Mar On The Run, and Cynthia @ You Signed Up For What!) is themed: 5 Fitness Snapshots.  I initially thought this topic would be easy for me, but as I’m looking through photos from the last few week I realized that I don’t have a lot of them!  I work out by myself most of the time, I don’t have a gym membership or go to classes, I don’t even have a DVD player!  I guess I’m an off-the-grid kind of fitness person which unfortunately doesn’t present many photo ops.  Clearly I need to remedy that as soon as possible!

Friday-Five-7-10-14


 

1.  Walking!  Walking is my favorite form of cross training and I can bring my little Bea Arthur with me.  We walk together every morning to open up the store and sometimes we take an afternoon walk as well.  I seriously just love being a pedestrian – I get to talk to people in my neighborhood, it helps improve my running endurance, it’s FREE, I get to see things that I would miss if speeding by at 30 m.p.h., and I get to enjoy the fresh air.

Walk-Everywhere

2.  Running is obviously my bread and butter, and this chick is my resident running buddy.  Our household has been down to 1 vehicle for about a month, which means tons of running in my own neighborhood with miss Liberty Belle.  It makes me sad to think that we had Liberty for years and I would never walk her or anything because I was so lazy.  She loves pounding the pavement as much as I do and we both reap the benefits – emotionally and physically.   In our house we are the 2 curvy blondes, but by the end of the summer we are going to be 2 sexy ladies!

Red-Faced-Runner

3.  A few weeks ago, Christina came home with the most perfect red vintage bike she got me for $40 on Craig’s List.  This is the first bike I’ve owned since I was a kid and I’m so happy to have one now!  A few of my close friends are really into biking, so it’s nice to finally be able to join in on the fun.  There are tons of great trails around my neighborhood, including one that will take me all the way from Pittsburgh to Washington D.C.!  I don’t know how long “Lola” will last because she’s definitely been used a lot, but I am really enjoying the experience of biking for fitness.  (Even if we don’t make it to Washington together!)

Lola-Bike-Homestead

4.  Tabata/HIIT – Since I don’t have a gym membership, I try to make the most with what I have at home.  This usually means throwing my mat down in the middle of the living room and getting in a high intensity interval circuit of one kind or another.  I alternate using my own body weight, this stained chair that we usually stand on when we are painting, a medicine ball, a stability ball, and some free weights.  I have a basic workout that I was given by my trainer, but I also find a lot of my workouts on Pinterest, Daily Hiit, and Daily Burn.  Honestly I try to switch it up as much as I can because the same old circuit gets mighty boring pretty quickly.  I’m thinking about investing in some kettle bells because they look like fun.

Home-Workout

The pets 100% believe this mat is for their enjoyment only and insist on walking all over/lay on it as soon as I put it out. Who doesn’t love a mouth of full of dog hair while you plank?!

5.  Stretching is such an important part of fitness and I don’t take it seriously enough.  You’re supposed to stretch for anywhere between 5-15 minutes after a run.  It can improve flexibility, shorten recovery time, improve circulation, relieve muscle tension/relax you, give you energy, and probably all kinds of other stuff (obviously I’m not a fitness instructor)!  Last year sometime, I stumbled onto this wonderful picture with all kinds of stretches from Heather over at Housewife Glamour.  I snapped a pic on my iPhone and I refer to it almost daily when I’m stretching.  I’ve also been a reader of Heather’s blog ever since!

via

{via}


I hope you enjoyed this Friday Five linkup, I had fun writing it and I can’t wait to participate in more of them!!

12 Responses to “Friday Five: Five Fitness Snapshots”

  1. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) July 11, 2014 at 11:30 am #

    Look at you bending over – flexible lady!!!!
    I miss sidewalks so I can walk with my dogs 😦

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 11, 2014 at 11:36 am #

      No, no! That is definitely not me in those pictures…that’s Heather at Housewife Glamour’s stretching tutorial. An NBA dancer I am not…I would be more like the mascot that they shoot out of the cannon!

  2. Running Bear July 11, 2014 at 2:46 pm #

    Matching human and dog tongue face picture rules! They really are so happy getting out and exploring, nothing ever becomes mundane for them, they greet every experience with enthusiasm, even the 100th day in a row.

  3. Eat Pray Run, DC July 11, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

    ahhh stretching. if i didn’t got to pure barre, i swear i’d probably never stretch. i’m so terrible at it!

  4. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils July 11, 2014 at 3:45 pm #

    I always forget about how much I enjoy walking! My dog wilts in hot weather, so he gets his long walks first thing in the morning, and I love those walks! This week has been awesome with the cooler temps and no humidity. We both love that! And yes, I’m huge on stretching. Even if I’m short on time, I still do about five basic stretches.

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 11, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

      This weather has been PERFECT! Your guy is probably loving it!!

  5. Chaitali July 12, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m visiting from the Friday Five link up. Your dogs are so cute! And thanks for sharing those websites for finding workouts to do at home. I haven’t tried those yet.

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 12, 2014 at 7:27 pm #

      Hi!! Thanks, I think they are pretty cute too!! 🙂

  6. Momshomerun July 13, 2014 at 4:25 am #

    I didn’t know walking counted as cross training! That is good news, because I really like walking too.

  7. Jennifer July 13, 2014 at 10:54 am #

    I really enjoy walking after a huge meal!

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 13, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

      I like walking up hills (good thing I live in Pittsburgh, right?) it sure makes running up them easier! I also try and find stairs while we are walking if I can. Switch it up!

  8. Heather January 21, 2015 at 3:23 pm #

    Thank you for featuring my stretching post! I’m so glad you found it useful. Also, thanks for following the blog! ❤

Leave a Reply

