Why You Should Try Something New

15 Jul

I did that thing again where I disappear for a few weeks, huh?  I’ve been taking the last week to recharge after 4th of July weekend.  Having an extra day off and a weekend full of festivities sure did feel like a momentum stopper.  The Monday after the holiday weekend, I started a 4 week challenge in a secret Facebook group.  It’s been really fun and honestly I’ve been seeing some really great progress.  Since we have to post in the group 2 pictures of food we’ve eaten during the day, 1 picture of us being sweaty (I don’t post very many of those!  #notphotogenic), and 1 picture of our protein shake.

The group has helped me in a few ways:

1.  It forces me to be accountable.  I would die of boredom if I was one of those bloggers who posted every day about every single thing they ate.  Snooze town, right?  The FB group setting has kind of a revolving door feeling where people just stop by and photo dump, then move on.  It’s a great place to get ideas, encourage others, and also BE encouraged by others in a way that feels like real-time.  It’s like a little positivity bubble!  I think that’s what has made me excited to reach my goals for each day, which are simply:  eat clean, hydrate, and be active.

2.  I’ve upped my water intake to a gallon of water a day.  Yeah.  The struggle is real.  The first week, I’m certain that I wasn’t getting my full water goal in.  I’m not denying that I was hydrated because HOOBOY was I hydrated, but why half ass it?  Based on a suggestion from one of the group members, I replicated her “Water Bomb.”

water-bomb-hydration-motivation

3.  I’ve been drinking protein-powder fruit smoothies every morning.  I’d never been all that consistent with protein powder.  If I remembered to drink a recovery shake after a workout, I remembered.  Usually not.  Since this challenge started, I’ve been drinking a fruit smoothie with protein powder every morning.  Having a full banana, a handful of strawberries, and at least 1 large handful of spinach (usually more!) has had DRAMATIC results for me.  I’m getting 2 full services of fruit and a serving of vegetables in 1 drink, not to mention all of the nutrients, calcium, and added protein.  My appetite is much more easy to manage during the day and I have had so much more energy.  Plus, I’m constantly wanting to try different variations based on the group member’s suggestions (tofu & avocado wouldn’t have occurred to me).

I lost 2 pounds the first week!  I can honestly say that I’m really glad I tried this – who knew that posting my pictures to some random strangers/ex-classmates would be what I needed to get through my weight loss plateau?!  It never hurts to try something new!  Don’t worry, I haven’t given up on my Monday Training Overview posts and I hope to be back on the bandwagon this week. 🙂

 

In other news, I dyed the underneath of my head peacock colors:

peacock-highlights-mermaid-hair

I’m kind of obsessed with it.

 

7 Responses to “Why You Should Try Something New”

  1. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils July 15, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Yay for trying new things! Glad it’s getting you results. And I absolutely LOVE the hair. I have always wanted to dye my hair blue/purple but never did it. And now I’m too old. Please post a minimum of one new pic a day of your hair!

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 15, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks!! Can’t wait to see what it looks like straightened. I got it done Saturday and I’m terrified to wash it…I don’t want it to ever fade 😦

  2. mom1025 July 16, 2014 at 7:28 am #

    Love, love, love the hair :). And so proud of your progress too!

  3. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) July 16, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

    How cute is that hair!!!!

    If I had to drink that much water from 8 – 10 pm – I’d never sleep #peeallnight 🙂

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 16, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

      Thanks!! That’s basically what happened…I had to cut back today so I could function. I don’t know how people drink that much water!!

  4. katrina July 19, 2014 at 4:37 pm #

    Ahhh your hair looks incredible! I had blue hair all through high school and really miss it sometimes.

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 19, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

      Thanks! I’ve tried some crazy things over the years and this is the first time I don’t look like a street kid!

Leave a Reply

