Training Overview #sftsRUNS

21 Jul

Welcome to today’s 10K Training Overview!  This is a weekly accidentally sporadic series in which I document my weekly accidentally sporadic running progress, nutrition, photos, and mileage as I train for Pittsburgh’s 2014 Great Race on September 28th.  If you are on Instagram, Twitter, or Facebook – you can also follow along using the hashtag #sftsRUNS.   These overviews are intended not only for me as a way to document my fitness journey, but also as a means to inspire other newbie runners who are ready to move beyond the 5K distance.

Training-Overview-SFTSRuns

Weekly Overview:

As with everything I set my mind to, I got a little distracted.  HEY!  I’m an Aries!  Give me a break!  I’ve been running, working out, and eating clean but I haven’t been following my set training plan.  At all.  It felt fake to come here and try to BS my way through an update with what amounts to fluff.  Something has gone awry in training land, but I am determined to get myself back on track!

Weight Change:

My weight loss goal is 150 lbs.  By August, my goal is to be down to 175 lbs.  When I began this training cycle, I weighted 192.7 and I am happy to report that this morning I weighed in at 186.7!  That’s a -6 lb. weight loss since the beginning of June.  I am thrilled – that is about a pound per week!  190 was a plateau that I just couldnotbreakthrough.  I’m so excited to see my progress with a more regular cardio regimen.

Physical Condition:

This past Sunday, I biked downtown (22.56 miles roundtrip) to participate in some FREE yoga in Market Square.  It was gorgeous and so much fun!  Seriously, how beautiful is Pittsburgh?  Ugh…I love it so hard.  My body is completely sore in so many different places from yoga, which of course makes me want to go back every Sunday.  Loved it and hey! you can’t beat the price of free.

yoga-in-the-square-open-streets-pittsburgh

Mental Condition:

I’ve honestly fallen into another one of my “lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer” slumps and have been lacking any and all motivation to regularly work out.  My body has been itching for physical activity, I’ve just got to get my mind back on board.  I’ll get there. 😦

Nutrition:

My clean eating has been my only salvation lately.  The FB challenge group I belong to has helped with this exponentially!  Also, not buying junk food has helped.  I did fall off the wagon once over the weekend, but that’s only because I’m making it my own personal mission to keep the fro-yo place down at the Waterfront in business!  Every night I say a prayer that it will survive what so many other ice cream related shoppes could not.  PS – I don’t even feel bad for eating this because the topping is mostly fruit and the total was less than $3.00.  That’s basically imaginary fro-yo in my book.  ALSO, I absolutely hated the bottom flavor (french toast – it 100% tasted like a Yankee candle) so I didn’t even eat half the yogurt.

fro-yo-cheating

Non-Mileage Training (but still running related):

This has been the majority of what I’ve been doing.  Oops!  Lots of biking and walking, a little yoga, and a little running.

Impact On Real Life:

Clean eating has changed my metabolism and it’s really starting to pay off.  Seeing results without actually putting in much effort is huge and it makes me want to push myself this week.  I will get more results if I put it more work!  The only thing holding me back from being the person I want to be is ME.

Action Plan:

This week I need to stick to my training plan and get in all my miles.  I need to get back on track with running and I’m looking forward to more yoga on Sunday 🙂

 

5 Responses to “Training Overview #sftsRUNS”

  1. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) July 21, 2014 at 12:34 pm #

    I need to really focus more on clean eating. It has to be the best thing for a body.
    Keep up the great work!

  2. Jennifer @ Running on Lentils July 21, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    Congrats on the weight loss! Breaking through a plateau is huge. I did not make it on Sunday but hope I can get there soon. Your pic makes me want to go! And yes, pittsburgh is awesome & beautiful. 🙂

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 21, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

      Oh you have to go at least once before the end of the summer, if only for the view! And not to sound cheesy, but the instructor kept saying “look at this community we’ve created here” and I was 5 seconds away from getting emotional every time!

  3. marcy July 22, 2014 at 11:02 am #

    Congratulations on your weight loss! Are they doing yoga every Sunday, or was that part of the Open Streets Sunday? I just signed up for the Yoga fest at the Point this coming Saturday, I can’t wait! I agree, Pittsburgh is a great city. I live about 45 minutes from it, but come in alot during the summer on the weekends. I’ll bet all the biking you are doing is going to help alot with your running!

    • SOLEfortheSoul July 22, 2014 at 11:22 am #

      Thanks!! This past Sunday is the 1st yoga in the square I was able to make it to, but I will definitely be going back. They also have free yoga in Highland Park on Sundays at 10, so I may try that one too. I will have to check out yogafest, this is the first I’m hearing about it!

Leave a Reply

