Roasted Beet Salad

22 Jul

I’ve been a fan of the beets for as long as I can remember…

thebeets

COME ON, Killer Tofu was one of the greatest hits of my childhood.

But seriously, beets.

Beets

My favorite way to prepare beets is to roast them (here is my go-to recipe).  This time, though, when the beets came out of the oven I tossed them in balsamic vinegar instead of of apple cider vinegar and knew they belonged on a bed of arugula and spinach.

Roasted-Beet-Salad-Goat-Cheese-Pecans-Arugula-Spinach

I added in a bit of crumbled goat cheese, toasted pecans, and my favorite balsamic dressing.  Seriously easy, meatless, and delicious!

My Favorite Balsamic Dressing:

  • 3 T. balsamic
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, pressed
  • 1 T. Dijon mustard
  • scant 1/3 c. extra virgin olive oil
  • salt, pepper to taste

Whisk together the balsamic, garlic, and Dijon mustard together.  Slowly whisk in the olive oil, then salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

