Israeli Couscous Salad with Cucumbers + Lemony Dressing

31 Jul

This is going to make me sound crazy but….that’s nothing new around here  The one thing I miss about working downtown is the plethora of coffee places, delis, and restaurants that were available to me at my every whim.  SPECIFICALLY, the delicious little pre-packaged cold salads I used to get at Crazy Mocha in Market Square.  Ridiculous, I know.  With the dreadful humidity we had last week, I was craving a cold salad ever more so luckily I found this unassuming recipe tucked away in one of my Pinterest boards.

It’s not the most aesthetically pleasing.  It’s not all that difficult to make.  It doesn’t call for any mysterious specialized ingredients.  BUT…this salad is so packed full of flavor I won’t ever miss Market Square Crazy Mocha again!  The combination of lemon, feta, and cucumbers is absolutely incredible and you will be seeing this again and again in my regular rotation.  I had prepared this recipe as a side to take for lunches this week, but I ended up eating a portion of it for dinner by itself.  I FULLY intend to bring this to the next picnic I attend, don’t you just love a variety of cold salads?!

Lemony-Cucumber-Israeli-Couscous-Salad


You should have a few cops of Israeli couscous prepared for this recipe prior to beginning!  First, remove the leaves from 1/4 of a bunch of parsley and roughly chop.  Also, prepare a large seedless cucumber by cutting it into discs, then cutting the discs into 4 pieces.  Add in the zest of 1 medium lemon.

Israeli-Couscous-Salad2

At this point, I made a lemon vinegarette with the juice of my medium lemon, some extra virgin olive oil, salt, garlic powder, and pepper.  I poured it over the cucumber mixture and tossed it lightly, then added 3 oz. of feta cheese and 2 cups of the cooked Israeli couscous.

Israeli-Couscous-Salad-1

Mix it all up, refrigerate and enjoy!

2 Responses to “Israeli Couscous Salad with Cucumbers + Lemony Dressing”

  1. Joanna Taylor Stone (@nextgenhouse) July 31, 2014 at 10:05 am #

    Aw man, that looks fantastic. I have cucumbers coming out my ears right now, so this is definitely on the list. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Rebecca Jo (@RebeccaJoKnits) July 31, 2014 at 12:10 pm #

    This is right up my alley!!!

Leave a Reply

