That time my blog was a shit show for basically the entire summer of 2014…

10 Sep

Dear SFTS readers:

You da bomb.

Thank you for continuing to come back here and read my rambling nonsensical thoughts, especially after I drop off the face of the earth for a spell.  And then continue to do so on a regular basis.  I never really fall of the face of the earth, you know…or even the internet.  If you are really missing me, you can just catch me on Twitter: @MichelleSFTS if you want a live feed of this shit show I call life.

brit-hair-flip

Moving on…

To say that I have been actually training for the Great Race is a joke.  I’ve been running obviously, but I haven’t stuck to my training plan at all and I keep taking breaks because of humidity fatigue blah blah blah being a lazy asshole.  HOWEVER, I still feel confident 18 days out that I will finish.  And have fun.  And those were my only goals, really!  This race is just a hoop I am making myself jump through so that I will have confidence to register for the Pittsburgh Half Marathon in May.  It’s sickening to me that the past 2 years of running have just been hoops I created for myself to build me up for the Pittsburgh Half.  Wait, is this like anxiety procrastination?  I don’t know.  I really do love to torture myself.  That’s harsh, it’s actually been a fun journey and I’ve learned a ton about running.  I fell in love with running immediately, the first time that running itself even occurred to me.  Since then, I’ve developed gratitude for my ability to run.  Tbh, I’ve developed gratitude for a lot of things since I started running.  It is seriously so freaking cool how much is possible if you just believe you can do something.  I never, ever, ever in a million years thought I would be able to do the things I now ask my body to do on a daily basis.  It’s incredible.  Anyway, I’m not going to go on one of my sappy “Running has made me a better person” tangents because I’m in way too good of a mood for all that.  I actually have no idea what the whole point of this entire paragraph post was.

brit-cringing

Love y’all.

2 Responses to “That time my blog was a shit show for basically the entire summer of 2014…”

  1. Joanna September 10, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    Life’s mostly a shit show, so if your blog reflects it, I’d just say you were getting it right. Plus Britney GIFs? Getting it right.

    I can relate to the feeling that you can’t believe what you’ve been able to do when it comes to running. I was the asthma kid in an oxygen tent when I was growing up and I couldn’t go outside if I wanted to breathe. And now I spend hours outside running. So it doesn’t surprise me when I have ups and downs with running, because hell, it wasn’t supposed to happen in the first place.

    Sorry, that was long winded.

    • SOLEfortheSoul September 10, 2014 at 1:39 pm #

      I didn’t have asthma, but I was in a similar boat…100% the benchwarmer on every team and got picked last in gym class because I was soooo not athletic! Now look at us! We are awesome!! Woop Woop!!

Leave a Reply

