Honey Parmesan Pork Roast

3 Jan

I mentioned this a few days ago, but one of the biggest obstacles for me right now is making healthy eating decisions.  Since I’m working a slightly later shift than I had been before, it’s not always that easy for me to come home and whip up a meal from scratch.  I mean, it IS easy but I honestly just don’t feel like doing it.  I also don’t love eating dinner after 8PM.  Using my slow cooker a bit more is an obvious solution.  I haven’t been a huge fan of my slow cooker because I feel like it can make food mushy and over-cooked, but given the right recipe I think I could get used to it.  I’ve committed to trying one new slow cooker recipe a week, and this week I wanted some comfort food.

Honey Parmesan Pork Roast (recipe from Six Sisters Stuff)

honey-Parmesan-pork-roast-1



Ingredients:

  • 2 lb. boneless pork shoulder roast
  • 2/3 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 c. organic honey
  • 3 T. low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 T. Italian seasoning
  • 4 cloves pressed garlic
  • 2 T. grapeseed oil
  • 1/2 t. sea salt
  • 3 T. corn starch + 1/4 c. COLD water

This recipe was perfect to throw together before work because it basically took about 5 minutes.  It’s as simple as spraying the slow cooker with some olive oil, mixing together all the ingredients (except the corn starch & water – that comes later), and pouring the marinade over the roast.  I set mine to cook for 8 hours because that’s how long I knew I would be gone. When I got home from work, I pulled the roast out to rest and carve.

 

honey-parm-pork-roast-2

Then, I poured the sauce/drippings into a small saucepan.  If you bring this to a boil, then stir in the corn starch and water, you can get a nice thick sauce to go over the pork.  Once the sauce is boiling, just stir it for around 2 minutes and it will thicken up nicely.  It’s not a gravy so much as it’s a glaze or a reduction – the consensus was that it would perfect drizzled over some roasted garlic brussels sprouts, but we only had some little potatoes to work with.  Spare me the lecture about needing a veg, I was channeling my mother’s old “meat and potatoes” formula for a perfect dinner.  As you do in 2015.

Honey-Parmesan-Pork-Roast-3

Leave a comment