Hoisin-Lime Glazed Salmon with Crunchy Bok Choy Slaw

10 Mar

Half marathon training is in full swing and things are going pretty great!!  I’ve either got a stress fracture forming in my left foot or tendinitis, so I’ve been trying to be very calculated with my training runs.   I’ve been pulling back a bit the last 2 weeks, getting in my as many miles as I can, and taking walking breaks when I’m starting to feel pain.  So far, this has been working and I’m feeling confident moving forward.  I’ve got a 5K on deck this weekend per my training plan, so we will see how it goes!

Side note: Can you believe how amazing 40 degree weather feels?  I mean, I’m ready for shorts and flip flops and there’s still piles of snow all around.  I absolutely cannot wait until it’s warm enough to get my grill on!  In the meantime, I thought I would leave this recipe here, it was absolutely delicious, healthy, and made for some great leftovers!

Hoisin-Lime-Glazed-Salmon

Hoisin-Lime Glazed Salmon with Bok Choy Slaw (from Cooking Light)

  • 2 c. thinly sliced bok choy
  • 1/2 c. thinly sliced carrots
  • 1/2 c. thinly sliced red pepper
  • 2 T. rice vinegar
  • 1 t. dark sesame oil
  • 1/2 t. Sriracha
  • 1/4 c. dry roasted, unsalted cashews
  • 2 T. hoisin sauce
  • 1 T. fresh-squeezed lime juice
  • 1 clove pressed garlic
  • 4 salmon filets
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 2 c. cooked jasmine rice

First, preheat the broiler to high WITH a sheet pan in the oven – you want to preheat the pan as well as the oven.  While the oven is preheating, prepare the dressing for the slaw by mixing together the rice vinegar, sesame oil, and Sriracha in a small bowl.  Place the prepared bok choy, carrots, and red pepper in a large bowl and set this aside for now.

Once the broiler is preheated, place the salmon filets on the preheated sheet pan.  Spray them with some cooking spray or lightly coat them with olive oil, then sprinkle with salt.  Place in the broiler for six minutes.  While the fish is pre-cooking, combine the hoisin, lime juice, and garlic in another small mixing bowl.  After 6 minutes, remove the fish from the oven and brush the salmon with half of the hoisin mixture.  Place back in the broiler for another 4-6 minutes (until desired doneness), then brush the remainder of the hoisin glaze.

While the fish is resting, toss the bok choy slaw with the vinegar mixture and add in the cashews.  Serve with jasmine rice.

 

Oh, and did I mention that the leftovers make freaking awesome tacos for lunch the next day?

Salmon Tacos

 

Leave a Reply

