Cheddar Quinoa Cakes

2 Sep

Last night, I ventured into the dark space that has become my kitchen.  With our schedule being so hectic lately, it hasn’t seen much use.  But last night, the reclamation began.

I started by dusting off this bag of quinoa in my pantry:

Quinoa

And ended with these amazing little cakes:

CheddarQuinoaCakes

Cheddar Quinoa Cakes with Pesto (Pin-spired by SpoonForkBacon)

  • 2 c. cooked quinoa
  • 2/3 c. shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 T. corn flour
  • 1 T. pesto
  • 1/2 T. EVOO
  • salt & pepper to taste

Combine all ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.  Heat up oil of your choice (I used canola oil because it’s what I had on hand) in a pan for about 5 minutes.  Then, form the mixture into patties and cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes each side.  I flipped mine when they turned a nice golden brown color, but the timing will change depending on the oil you are using.  Since I had to cook these in 2 batches, I placed the finished ones on a cooking sheet lined with paper towels in a 200F oven.  They stayed warm and I was able to absorb the excess oil.  Super easy!

I garnished with a mix of pesto, olive oil, and a dab of mayo.

2 Responses to “Cheddar Quinoa Cakes”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 53 Best Healthy Gluten Free Vegetable Recipes - Munchyy - September 10, 2014

    […] 35. Cheddar Quinoa Cakes […]

  2. 15 Gluten Free Recipes - My Life and Kids - September 30, 2016

    […] Cheddar Quinoa Cakes […]

Leave a comment