Sweet Tooth Sunday

9 Jun

You guys.

SRBarsFinal1

I have been staring at the farmer’s market rhubarb in my crisper drawer all week, pining away for some kind of baked good.  I had planned to make rhubarb brownies, but I am not in a chocolate mood.  Yesterday when I made a trip to the grocery store, I snagged some strawberries on sale.  Naturally, I thought of a strawberry-rhubarb crisp so I took to Pinterest!  I found a nice little recipe, but was missing a few ingredients so I improvised.

Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Bars (Source: The Tart Tart)

For the crumble/crust:

  • 3/4 cup oat flour (or ground oats, in my case)
  • 1 2/3 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 t. baking powder
  • zest of half a lemon
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter (I used salted butter and omitted the salt), cubed
  • 1 large egg

Like I said before, I don’t happen to have any oat flour laying around the house.  So, I grabbed my trusty mortar and pestle and ground some old-fashioned oats. Yes, as in Quaker Old Fashioned Oats.

SRBars1

Holler. At. Me.

Once my dry ingredients were assembled, I stirred in one lightly beaten egg and the lemon juice with a wooden spoon.

SRBars2

Here’s the thing about making a crisp or a crumble or a pie crust: use cold butter.  You have to.  Trust me. I mean it.  And don’t mix it with your hands because that will warm the butter.  If you have a pastry cutter, good for you.  I am not that shmancy. I used two knives and cut the butter into the flour mixture, like a good little Yankee who was raised by a southern lady.

Once you get the mixture to a consistency where its chunky, press 2/3 of the mixture into a 9″ pan that you’ve buttered and floured.  (You are going to reserve the 1/3 for the top, so feel free to save a little more if you want.  I like a strong base so that they are easier to cut into bars.)  In fact, I encourage you to press the crust in firmly.

SRBars3

Then, mix together the filling  & spoon it over top of the crust:

  • 2 cups rhubarb, sliced in 1/2 inch pieces
  • 2 cups strawberries, sliced
  • juice of half lemon
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 4 T. corn starch

SRBars4

Sprinkle on the rest of the topping and bake at 375F for 50 minutes.

SRBars5

When these came out, I let them cool for a few hours before I cut into them.  They were still warm in the middle and seemed like they wanted to fall apart, but thought better of it.  I didn’t really give mine much time to think about it.

SRBarsLastBite

I mean, how could you not want to bring these to a cookout or  picnic?

SRBarsFinal1

One Response to “Sweet Tooth Sunday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heat Wave Flashback! | SOLE for the Soul - June 21, 2014

    […] We were celebrating the Supreme Court ruling DOMA to be unconstitutional during the same month as Pittsburgh Pride.  This year,  we celebrated that Pennsylvania has ruled in favor of marriage equality!  We were also trying our hand at container gardening, whelping a litter of the sweetest F1 labradoodles, talking about Pittsburgh food trucks, and learning how to be a more responsible consumer!  Some of the month’s notable recipes were:  Perfect Chicken Burgers and Strawberry Rhubarb Crumble Bars. […]

Leave a comment